Eleven Word Devotion #2

Inspired by the 100 Word Challenge, I wanted a challenge that blended my desire to write with the Word of God, the Bible. John 1:1 (hence the eleven) says, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” God created with words, and He let’s us do the same; I think that’s awesome.

This is the challenge. Every Saturday morning, I’ll provide a word, a name, a phrase, a verse, or a couple of verses as a focus for your creative thinking. You have exactly eleven words to write a response. Meditate on the prompt and craft an eleven word act of writing that points us towards God – an Eleven Word Devotion.

To enter, publish your Eleven Word Devotion to your blog, and then type the link into a comment beneath that week’s prompt. Be sure to include a link back to the EWD for the week, so others can participate. You can use the EWD graphic too. (You can see an example, here)

Part of the experience is to read one another’s Eleven Word Devotions and comment – consider it a form of blogosphere fellowship.

The prompt for the week of February 4, 2012 is:

 

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.
(Genesis 1:1)


About ryan85

A son, a brother, a husband, a father of eight, and a friend. A follower of Jesus Christ. A fan of the Seminoles and all teams Atlanta. I write, I read, and teach when I can. I prefer red pens. I'm easily distracted. I've lived in Augusta, GA, northern Minnesota, the beautiful western NC mountains, and Tallahassee, FL - Go 'Noles. I played football for FSU, was on the national championship team in 1999, and took a few snaps with the Pittsburgh Steelers. My favorite colors are fluorescent yellow, and Garnet & Gold. I drive a minivan and think it's cool.
This entry was posted in Eleven Word Devotion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eleven Word Devotion #2

  1. TommyK says:

    Talk about a thought-provoking passage. Here is my 11 word devotion…

    http://wp.me/p2a6Cu-F

  2. Pingback: Created | Discovering Writing

  3. ryan85 says:

    Here’s mine. Say hi to the Koala, http://wp.me/s26N0W-created

Share your thoughts

