Writing is Work.

Don’t buy the myth that writing is easy. It’s not. I heard one author say, “Writing is like giving birth to barbed wire.” Others say writing is 5 percent inspiration and 95 percent perspiration. Books that were easy to write are invariably hard to read. Some writers seem so natural, so effortless. Don’t be fooled. It takes a lot of effort to appear effortless. With everything else competing for your reader’s attention, you must work to earn it. Many people say they want to write a book, but what they really want is to have written a book. Big difference! – Randy Alcorn

If there’s anything I’ve become certain of, it’s this idea. There have been days where I knew I was a hopeless, talentless, fraud of a writer. I’ve stared at a monitor and struggled to find words. I know what it is to read my own work, and hate it. But I also believe it’s part of the process of becoming. I don’t believe we will ever “arrive” as writers. I hope to improve with each paragraph, rewrite, and project… especially after reading my last effort. We have to keep our fingers on the keys, our bums in the seat, and write, even when it’s hard.

For a few more tips, you can read Randy’s Insights on Writing Inspirational Fiction.

Keep Discovering Writing.

About ryan85

A son, a brother, a husband, a father of eight, and a friend. A follower of Jesus Christ. A fan of the Seminoles and all teams Atlanta. I write, I read, and teach when I can. I prefer red pens. I'm easily distracted. I've lived in Augusta, GA, northern Minnesota, the beautiful western NC mountains, and Tallahassee, FL - Go 'Noles. I played football for FSU, was on the national championship team in 1999, and took a few snaps with the Pittsburgh Steelers. My favorite colors are fluorescent yellow, and Garnet & Gold. I drive a minivan and think it's cool.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing is Work.

  1. char says:

    It isn’t easy…but it is sure fun and rewarding (certain times more than others). But I agree…you don’t just ‘write a book.’ You toil and labor to bring forth a good story–and just like childbirth–what you deliver is got a lot of YOU in it (hopefully the good genes…not the bad, right?).

Share your thoughts

